ritani-wedding-venues-logo_blacktext-copy

Reviews of the Skansonia

Unbelievable! The Best Wedding Food We’ve Ever Had!

Susie – June 2016

Our experience with the MV Skansonia was so unbelievable, I’m not sure where to begin. I suppose we can start with the staff. Vicki, Victoria and McKayla (my apologies if spelling is incorrect) were truly spectacular. In short, both my wife and I aren’t the most organized folks. The staff went above and beyond to calm our nerves about preparation, but also helped with every facet of the ceremony and reception. The women of the Skansonia were the talk of the town amongst family and friends. They seamlessly guided us through the process of planning and executing the entire day and everything went off without a hitch. They really made us feel comfortable, they advised us when we were unsure and most importantly, they listened to our every request, no matter how big or small it was. We wouldn’t have pulled this off without them. Next, let’s go with the venue itself. We are originally east coasters who now call Seattle home, so most of our guests came from out of town. The venue blew everyone away. The historic charm, the waterfront location, the quintessential views of the downtown skyline made it a truly unique celebration. We’re still getting calls about how unbelievable the venue was. Few decorations needed to make this place looks beautiful, the history speaks for itself. Up next, my favorite: the food! One of the reasons we chose the Skansonia in the first place was the reviews about the food. Man, they did not disappoint. From the tasting night to the reception itself, there was never a bad bite. We had steak, salmon, butternut squash ravioli and plenty of tasty appetizers. Normally for weddings, it is quantity vs quality but the Skansonia found the secret to provide both. I couldn’t tell you how many times we were told that it was “the best wedding food we’ve ever had”. We had 160+ guests and we heard that from nearly everyone. On top of how delicious the food was, it was extremely affordable compared to other catering services. If they were a restaurant (hint: they are), I would eat there constantly (hint: I do). Miscellaneous comments – One of our main concerns was the table setup with our group size and how most tables would be separated from the dancefloor. The ladies of the Skansonia assured us that they would create a layout and environment that flowed with the events of the night and they backed up their statements. While people were dancing, others hung out at the bar and others wandered out front and on the upstairs decks. The layout really provided an intimate setting where people could get a variety of settings if they wanted to. We provided our own alcohol for the wedding – mostly beer bottles and wine. The Skansonia was so helpful in providing accurate alcohol amounts and they were extremely accommodating for dropoff of the alcohol and other wedding decor. Overall, the women of the Skansonia were easy to work with, proactive with communication, honest with their professional opinions and most of all, their presence was calming, assuring and approachable. I know it sounds cliche, but we really would not have been able to pull the wedding off without them. I would recommend this venue and it’s wonderful employees to anybody (and have been!). I hope that one day, Susie and I can attend a wedding on the Skansonia as guests, so we can see from another perspective how wonderful this place really is. Thanks for so much!!

Everyone LOVED the Food and Venue!

Omgoosh….From start to finish on our big day! Everyone did a wonderful job! I am so thrilled that we picked Skansonia as our venue. Everyone loved to food and venue. Truly worth $$$$ it!

We Wish We Could Go Back!

Reviewed on June 22, 2016 by  Marjan

The venue is gorgeous – so unique and so Seattle. To top it off, Vicki, Mikaela and Victoria are amazing. So kind, calm and extremely helpful. They executed our wedding day flawlessly. The food and dessert provided by LUC was incredible – our guests couldn’t get enough! We wish we could go back!

They Were Fantastic!

My husband and I got married here on October 24th 2015. It was amazing! I don’t think we could have picked a better spot to show off the city, entertain our guests and celebrate our union. I would recommend this place to any couple on the hunt for the perfect Seattle venue.

When we first started looking into venues I had my heart set on the MV Skansonia. We got pricing from other venues, just to shop around some but when compared to the Skansonia nothing held a flame.

We had a great deal of out of state guests coming to the wedding. Many had never been to Seattle, so we wanted to show off the city, and we totally got to do that here. The Skansonia alone is an awesome venue with a cool bit of Seattle history and then when you combine it with the view, it can’t be beat!!!

We worked with Victoria and Mikaela, they were both wonderful and were so accommodating. They made the process so easy and very painless. They were so FANTASTIC to work with.. The rehearsal, day before and day of, they made it all so easy. I really loved that we worked with a venue that came with a day of coordinator, it was a huge huge plus!!! I would recommend a day of coordinator to anyone because it really allowed us to be in the moment and to have fun and not think about time lines and what we needed to do, etc. They held our hands the entire way and just took charge! It was honestly one of the most stand out things to me during our wedding. Being able to be in the moment was a huge gift and weight off our shoulders. We had a total blast and still are in awe that everything worked out as amazingly as it did. All we have to say about our wedding is that it was awesome! What couple doesn’t want to look back on their wedding day and think that? The Skansonia made that possible.

We completely trusted that the Skansonia would take care of us, and they did not in any way, shape or form, disappoint.

I wish we could get married there again!!!! You’ll be so happy if you go this route

.

Not a Thing We Would Change! Absolutely Perfect!

Reviewed on January 16, 2016 by Diana

This was absolutely the perfect venue for us! With many friends and family traveling for our wedding (more than half traveled from out of state!), what better way to show off our beautiful city than to be on a ferry w/ a view of the Space Needle across Lake Union? Aside from the perfect setting, everything else was spot on. The food was delicious! I would pick something and say “you must have _________”, but there isn’t just one thing! You can’t go wrong w/ the menu. The space is well laid out to allow guests to move about easily, find a quiet spot, or even escape outside. The onsite staff were wonderful during the event. Perfectly kind and helpful all evening. Looking back, there is not a thing we would change and given the chance, we would do it all over again!

It was Perfect!

Reviewed on February 5, 2016 by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research

We all had a wonderful evening on the boat and it was perfect. Thank you for the help and the set up was great! The temperature was nice and the view was fantastic. The guests all took out their cameras before we started heading out to capture the Seattle skyline.

Amazing Venue and Experience!

Reviewed on 07/24/2015 by Lisa via WeddingWire

My husband and I were married on the Skansonia on July 24, and cannot recommend the Skansonia highly enough! We had a wonderful time, and are still hearing from guests how much they loved the venue and the food!

The Skansonia was recommended to us by a friend whose sister had been married there a few years ago. We were able to see the boat the next day at an open house, and were immediately in love with the ambiance and atmosphere on the Skansonia. I mean, how much more “Seattle” does it get than a retired ferry boat on Lake Union, overlooking the Seattle skyline?

We loved the fact that the Skansonia team works closely with a bakery, florist, and caterer, and while we could have used our own vendors, why re-invent the wheel when you have such an excellent team already on board (no pun intended)? I’m always someone who wants a “Plan B,” and I loved the fact that they could move everything for the ceremony inside within 15 minutes in case the weather didn’t hold out. We had rain on the morning of our wedding, and with a quick email to Vicki on the Skansonia, she reassured me right away that we could make a game time decision to move things inside. It turns out we didn’t need to, but it made the day much more relaxing to know we wouldn’t be rained out!

Vicki and Mikayla were incredibly responsive to all of our emails, and never made it seem as though I was pestering them with questions (I really, really tried not to be a Bridezilla!). On the day of the wedding, Vicki was SO calm and reassuring, I was able to hand everything over to her and just enjoy the day! I never felt like I had to worry about anything – Vicki and Mikayla had it all taken care of. All we had to do was show up and have a wonderful time, which we did!

As I mentioned earlier, guests have been coming up to me for weeks, telling me what a fun time they had, how great the venue was, and how much they loved the food (including the cupcakes)!


Absolutely Gorgeous!

Reviewed on 10/09/2015 by Amber via WeddingWire

We got married on the Skansonia on 10/9 and had a great wedding! The venue is absolutely gorgeous! The food and cake were delicious! Vicki and her team were amazing and helped make our day seamless. Strongly recommend this venue for your wedding or special event!


Beautiful View and Lots of Historic Charm!

Reviewed On 11/07/2015 by Kelsey via WeddingWire

I cannot recommend the Skansonia highly enough! We got married on 11/7, which turned out to be a cold and rainy evening. We had our ceremony and reception inside, and it was so cozy and beautiful! The wood floors, bulb lights, and many LED candles made it super romantic and lovely.

The Skansonia staff, particularly Mikaela, were so helpful before, during and after the event. It was never a problem to stop by during tour hours to take another look at the layout or ask a question, and they were super responsive via email as well. We were able to store decorations at the venue in advance of the wedding, which was super helpful in minimizing last minute to-dos. On the day of the wedding Mikaela made sure everything ran smoothly, from starting to set up our decorations before we arrived to orienting the person running the music (we used their sound system instead of a DJ and it worked out great!).

If you’re looking for a venue with a beautiful water/skyline view and lots of historic charm, this is it!


Best Seattle Venue!

Reviewed On 7/25/2015 by Sarah B  – via The Knot

My wife and I just got married on the Skansonia last month and it was absolutely the most PERFECT day! The venue held all of our guests (170) Without any problems and the staff was AMAZING!


Overall Incredible Venue

Reviewed on 5/04/2015 by Alan E – via The Knot

I can not even begin to say how amazed I was with the absolutely phenomenal experience I had with the MV Skansonia. To begin, the venue itself is stunning. We had our ceremony on the bow of the boat with the Seattle skyline as the backdrop. The inside is equally beautiful with unique vintage-looking decoration and beautiful lighting hanging from the ceiling. The staff at the Skansonia are also wonderful people to work with. Kristine answered all my questions, no matter how little or silly and met with me and my husband several times to make sure that we were the most comfortable we could be with everything having to do with our wedding day! Both Kristine and our day of coordinator, Vicki, helped us to make the boat our own for our wedding day with suggestions on decorations and other ideas. Vicki was the most incredible coordinator I could have asked for, she was calm and made me feel so loved on our wedding day. I felt so confident knowing that she was in charge and she did an amazing job allowing us to enjoy our day but also moving things along so as not to go over our allotted time. I also loved that we were able to get all food and cupcakes from the Skansonia as well. It made it easy to only have to deal with one person as opposed to five different vendors! And the staff at the Skansonia did all of the cleaning up! I loved that my bridal party and family had minimal cleaning post-reception. Thank you to the amazing staff at the MV Skansonia for making our day so special! The MV Skansonia was the absolute perfect place for my husband and I to be married and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful, elegant venue.


7.5.13 ~ An amazing day!

Reviewed on 7/22/2013 by Jennifer F – via The Knot

Scott and I are finally back and adjusting to reality after our amazing wedding & honeymoon adventures in Cabo! We simply cannot thank you enough for providing us with such a BEAUTIFUL wedding on July 5th! It was everything we had hoped for and we are so thankful for everyone’s help and support from the Skansonia! We have heard nothing but amazing compliments about the venue, the service, and of course the great party that ensued. The Skansonia truly is Seattle’s best kept secret and Scott and I feel so lucky to have spent our special day in such a beautiful location that captures Seattle at its best! We also loved the fact that the Skansonia used to commute from Gig Harbor (my hometown) to Tacoma as a passenger ferry which gave us another reason to love this venue and its’ unique character. Again, we thank you and would absolutely recommend you to all our friends and family! Jennifer & Scott Tester


Skansonia – A Truly Seattle Experience

Reviewed on 10/27/2012 by Katy O – via The Knot

For a truly Seattle venue, you cannot beat the Skansonia. Being on the water with views of the city is just breathtaking. The Skansonia did an amazing job for our wedding! The atmosphere is stunning and the food is even better! All our guests complimented the food. The staff is very helpful, too. We met with Ellie, one of the coordinators for the Skansonia, the before the wedding and she really helped us figure out the timing and logistics for the big day. On the day of the wedding she took care of everything for us. She really made sure the event ran smoothly. I felt like I didn’t have to worry about a thing. I highly recommend using the Skansonia.


The Perfect Spot

Reviewed On 10/07/2012 Megan R – via The Knot

The Skansonia was such a great place to get married. The people were easy to work with, the food was great, and the setting is absolutely magical. I had so many great comments on the venue and I wouldn’t have changed a thing.


Fabulous Day

Reviewed on 6/14/2012 by Brenda M – via The Knot

We had our wedding with about 180 guests on the Skansonia May 27th, 2012 and we couldn’t have asked for a better experience! Everyone at the Skansonia was incredibly helpful and supportive leading up to the big day. I emailed frequently with questions sometimes multiple times a day/week and they always gave quick and informative responses. For the events directly before the wedding (i.e. finalizing meeting, rehearsal, etc) they were completely on top of everything and very relaxed which helped to keep us relaxed too! We worked directly with Shauna and Ellie and they were both there the night of the wedding to keep everything running smoothly and make sure we had everything we needed. For everything that was included and the incredibly wonderful setting, the price was very reasonable. We have had many guests remark about the amazing food and great location and we highly recommend this venue to anyone!


Wouldn’t change a thing!

Reviewed On 11/04/2011 Sarah M – via The Knot

We had our wedding and reception on 10-9-11 on the Skansonia, and everything went just as we had expected! The weather cooperated for our short ceremony, so we were able to do the ceremony on the bow of the ship (they allow you to make the call up to 30 minutes before the ceremony). The food was amazing as well! We had salmon, pasta, and a green salad. They also allow you to bring on all your own alcohol without a corkage fee, which was a huge savings for us. We also made our own centerpieces and brought them in, which they were totally fine with. Easy to work with, flexible, and affordable! It was an amazing day and I wouldn’t change a thing about working with this venue!


Fun, Affordable Venue

Reviewed on 10/20/2011 by Annie H – via The Knot

We were married on the Skansonia over Labor Day weekend 2011. We were very fortunate to have our wedding on one of the sunniest, warmest days of the year. Overall, the Skansonia was wonderful – the food was delicious (we heard this from numerous guests), the space was nice, and it was affordable. We loved being able to bring all our own alcohol on board. There are some cons – first, you only have one hour before your event to set up, though you can purchase additional time for a fee (for us, it was $300 for each additional hour, but I believe that has since gone up). The staff are very nice and professional overall. We were quite upset though, that on our wedding day, one of the staff told family members that the front rows for the ceremony were reserved. Yes – that was correct – they were reserved – for family! As a result, several family members ended up standing for the ceremony because they’d been told not to sit up front – and those front rows remained empty for the ceremony.


Great Venue

Reviewed on 10/14/2011 by Wendy P – via The Knot

The Skansonia is a great location for a wedding. Pros include: the view from the deck is amazing, the food is fantastic, the dance floor is huge, the wedding packages are affordable, and they offer BYOB. The staff are easy to work with and did a wonderful job for our wedding.


GREAT VENUE!

Reviewed on 10/07/2011 by Jesse M – via The Knot

I loved the location, the view and the staff. They were all so helpful and they made sure that I left with everything that I brought with me. They washed and re packaged our champagne glasses and cake knives and they helped my parents pack up all the vases They were so nice and the venue was perfect. Loved just about everything!


Can’t Be Beat

Reviewed on 8/09/2011 by Jamie A – via The Knot

The Skansonia Ferryboat was a perfect venue for so many reasons. First, since they have so many weddings there a year, they really know what they’re doing. The staff is very helpful and I loved having the option of using one of their staff for a day of wedding coordinator. Second, they’ve created unbeatable atmosphere. Being on an eclectically and vintage decorated old ferry boat with a glowing view of the Seattle skyline was so magical. Third, the prices were up front and they have so many options to add on to make a wedding easy (candles, table runners, cake, ice cream, catering, flowers etc). They have many vendors that have worked with them in the past. It was a great piece of mind to know that many of vendors already knew the staff and layout of the boat.


Skansonia Ferryboat

Reviewed on 8/08/2011 by Ellen T – via The Knot

I was extremely happy with my Skansonia experience. The venue speaks for itself – I fell in love with the ferry immediately. The view of the city skyline, including the spaceneedle, from the ferry is amazing and it was a great way to introduce out of town guests to Seattle. The food was unreal – so delicious, I was very happy with it. Upgrade to inlude the Lobster Mac when you upgrade the number of entrees…guests (and I!) loved it. The planning and service at the wedding and before was so easy to plan. Overall, I thought the quality, service, and value for the venue were all 5 out of 5’s. In my particular case, I was not able to come anywhere near my guest minimum, so for me, the value was not there as much – so I recommend definitely making sure you can meet the guest minimums when picking out your day.


Perfect Seattle Day!

Reviewed on 7/13/2011 by Caitlin W – via The Knot

We got married on a Monday on the boat and it was the nicest day in Seattle all year! It was beautiful, the food was amazing and delicious, way better then we thought it would be because we were unable to make it to the tasting. Most all of the staff were great, so friendly, helpful, but one person in particular seemed to maybe be having a bad day but that would be the only flaw! It’s a spectacular venue, they do a fantastic job!!